top of page
Search

Health Diaries: Notes from Nursing School - Embarking on the Journey

Dear Journey Seekers,


Welcome to the beginning of our Health Diaries series – an exploration of my nursing school journey. I am delighted you've chosen to join me on this adventure, and I hope you find inspiration and insights along the way.


My decision to pursue nursing was a pivotal moment in my life. I carefully selected subjects in high school, aligning with the Nursing Council of Jamaica's requirements for nursing programs. Meeting these prerequisites was crucial, especially the stipulation that one must not have more than two Grade III in CXC General or GCE O'Level Grade C, or a combination of both. While I don't mean to boast, performing well in high school facilitated my smooth acceptance.


For those facing challenges meeting these criteria, fear not. Consider engaging in continuing education to enhance your qualifications. Attend classes, seek improvement, and demonstrate your commitment to the nursing path.


Choosing the right nursing school is a critical decision. The Nursing Council of Jamaica (NAJ) lists nine approved schools, each with its unique attributes. When making your choice, factor in location, cost, success rates, available resources, and faculty requirements. In my case, location and cost were significant considerations, and you'll soon understand why as our series unfolds.


With the decision made, the next step is purchasing the application form at your chosen school. I vividly recall nervously carrying the precious paper, even buying a manila envelope to keep it safe. If I had a car at the time, that application would have surely gotten its own seat!


Completing the application form and submitting it with the required documents marks a moment of anticipation. The waiting period for the interview can feel like an eternity. In the next episode of Health Diaries, I'll share what I did during this waiting period and provide insights into the interview process.


Thank you for being a part of this journey. Until next time!


Warm regards, Your Journey Guide



Post: Blog2_Post

©2024 by Herbal Health Diaries. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page