top of page
Search

Health Diaries: Notes from Nursing School - The Waiting Game

Dear Journey Seekers,

As the anticipation for acceptance into nursing school loomed, I found myself facing not only the excitement of potential success but also the reality of financial challenges. Unlike some families well-equipped to cover the costs, mine struggled in that aspect. The lack of financial planning became a focal point, diverting my attention from brushing up on basic sciences or preschool refreshers. I was unsure if I got in, so I decided to plan. As we say in Jamaica, No wait till drum beat before you grine you axe (Do not wait until the drum beats before you grind your axe. Explanation: Be prepared for all eventualities.)

That's what I did—I created my own nursing school checklist.

Despite having a list of essential supplies for school, I only managed to acquire a portion. For those embarking on a similar journey, consider these essential supplies for nursing school:

  1. Stethoscope

  2. Laptop

  3. Quality Nursing Shoes

  4. Reliable Watch

  5. Clinical Bag

  6. Medical Reference Books

  7. Notepads and Pens

  8. Manual Blood Pressure Machine

  9. Compression Socks

  10. Water Bottle

The long-awaited call arrived, and my excitement soared—I got in! They accepted me, just little old me. This is my opportunity, and I told myself, "I am going to do this!" Although, I was still uncertain about where the funds will come from.


In the midst of uncertainty, a glimmer of hope emerged with a scholarship opportunity from a Jamaican bank. Pouring my heart into an essay about the most influential person in my life, my mother, proved to be a fortuitous decision. The scholarship became my first payment toward nursing school, offering a temporary reprieve.

Mentally and emotionally unprepared for the challenges ahead, I learned that resilience is a crucial trait for aspiring nurses. My mother's handmade uniforms, a collective effort from everyone contributing what they could, became a symbol of communal support.

Looking back, I realize there are things I would have done differently. However, each misstep and triumph shaped the path to where I stand today.


As we navigate the twists and turns of my nursing school journey, here are a few pieces of advice I'd like to share:


1. Financial Planning Matters:

  • Start planning for the financial aspects early on. Explore scholarship opportunities and financial aid options to ease the burden.


2. Embrace Resilience:

  • Nursing school can be challenging, but cultivating resilience will help you weather the storms. Understand that setbacks are part of the journey, and each one brings valuable lessons.


3. Community Support is Invaluable:

  • Cherish the support from your community. Whether it's handmade uniforms, shared resources, or emotional encouragement, every bit adds to the collective strength.


4. Prepare Mentally and Emotionally:

  • Recognize that the journey ahead will demand mental and emotional fortitude. Take time to develop coping mechanisms and seek support when needed.


5. Stay Organized with Essential Supplies:

  • Ensure you have the essential supplies ready. A well-prepared nursing bag can be your companion in the hectic days ahead.


6. Seek Scholarships and Grants:

  • Explore various scholarship and grant opportunities. You never know where the next opportunity may come from, and it could make a significant difference.


Remember, this journey is not just about acquiring skills; it's about personal growth, resilience, and finding your unique path in the world of nursing.


The date and time for orientation marked a new chapter, and in the official Chapter 1 of this series, I'll provide a glimpse into my nursing school orientation day.

With stethoscopes and resilience, Your Journey Guide







Post: Blog2_Post

©2024 by Herbal Health Diaries. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page